it’s only April — but we have a contender…

What better way to ease my way back into blogging after a mini-hiatus than with a really lazy post highlighting an *ahem* interesting spot from BBH for broadcasting *ahem* powerhouse ITV (an organisation who we know are awash with funds at the moment).

After getting over the crushing disappointment of realising this wasn’t a spot announcing Kes II (which would, clearly, be awesome) I set about analysing the spot in detail, poring over each frame to ensure I had squeezed every possible brand learning from the two-minute opus.

Or, I retweeted something my mate Simon said: struggling to find words for the TWO MINUTE brand ad BBH have made for ITV

As am I.

Instead, I’ll leave you with a tweet from Katy, who so astutely put it this morning: I’m thinking making decent programming, instead of an ad saying what great programming they have, would be more believable!

Enjoy. Don’t have nightmares.

Tags: ,

9 Responses to “it’s only April — but we have a contender…”

  1. Paul H. Colman Says:

    Shocker.

  2. producerjon Says:

    lost for words.

  3. jamesq Says:

    What??? A bit like the BBC sand dune ads too…. Can’t really work out who they are targeting with this ad and struggling with the Penguins.

  4. Ben Says:

    Let’s say you were a brand. Thinking of advertising on ITV. What could you learn from that?

  5. Angus Says:

    Oh my lord. Appalling.

  6. doug Says:

    Phew. I’m glad it wasn’t just me (and Simon and Katy).

    And Ben, I’d learn they’ve got too much money and not enough sense. Which means my advertising should be cheaper. and might not work.

    Oops.

  7. Marcus Says:

    I saw this when Eva and myself were in England over Easter weekend. As we were watching it I thought to myself “for years and years I thought british advertising was the best in the world. ….” my thoughts were interuppted by Eva who was shouting at me…”lair! you fucking liar! British advertising is shit! If I was the ITV1 Bank I’d be fucking furious.”

    We then had chips for supper.

    I love Eva.

    Good early evening.

  8. doug Says:

    Marcus, wise words – as always. I’m sorry Eva was put through this.

    Good evening Munich.

  9. Marcus Says:

    good middle of the night Mr. Fresh.

Leave a Reply

