Graeme Douglas’ Excellence Adventure

As some of you may be aware (certainly those readers who follow me on twitter) I recently completed the IPA Excellence Diploma, for which the final graduation ceremony was held last night at IPA HQ down in Belgrave Square.

In return for our endeavours we graduates received a rather swanky perspex memento for the mantelpiece, and for three lucky chaps (myself included – blush) the prospect of having our final dissertations published in a Campaign supplement some time in November was an extra sweetener.

It was a very tough 18 months, with many a lost weekend reading obscure pieces by Giep Franzen and friends, but an utterly worthwhile endeavour which was both inspiring and challenging in equal measure. It’s an expensive gig (I think the IPA charge about £5k for it) but if you can stomach the workload and your agency will stump up for it, I wholeheartedly recommend it.

But back to the evening. In the end, only two ‘pass with distinctions’ were awarded, of which I was the very fortunate recipient of one, with my mate Faris bagging the other. Mr Yakob also very deservedly secured the President’s Prize for the best dissertation – big respect due.

Needless to say, it was a boozy do, with Hamish Pringle and company kindly supplying many a libation (as I write my headache is still pounding away) but in this instance, a slight over-indulgence was justified, and dare I say after hundreds of reading hours and over 20,000 words, well deserved.

It was bloody hard work. But in a funny way, I’m going to miss it now it’s over.

NB. I’m just checking with the IPA about posting my final dissertation, but as soon as I’m allowed, I’ll pop it up here for you to have a read of if you’re interested.

15 Responses to “Graeme Douglas’ Excellence Adventure”

  1. Will Says:

    Graeme – you are going to have to change your header; clearly, you aren’t a peripheral member of the London Advertising club if you come away with the results you did.

    And congratulations to Faris as well. I look forward to reading both dissertations.

    Well done chaps.

  2. Marcus Brown Says:

    Well Done old chap. Good stuff.

  3. Paul H. Colman Says:

    Look forward to reading it. I work with David Young on Lloyds, a previous winner of the President’s Prize.

  4. Charles Frith Says:

    In celebration of this splendid news I’m going to change my link to this blog. You are henceforth

    Phosphorescent Planner.

    In recognition of your brilliant effort.

    Now watch that traffic spike baby 🙂

  5. Gagey Says:

    Hey Graeme. Well done and well deserved. I’m slightly disturbed that you were up and writing before 7 the morning after, but I guess the planner’s work is never done….

  6. russell Says:

    Stick it up anyway. It’s brilliant. Deserves to be shared.

  7. gareth Says:

    congratulations. you definitely have to change the header.

  8. FishNChimps Says:

    good work, that man

  9. Greg Says:

    Congrats mate, I’ll keep an eye out for the big reveal…

  10. Doug Says:

    thanks one and all!

  11. neilperkin Says:

    Yep – well done GD. Can’t wait to read it.

  12. Dino Says:

    wish i was in london, as this calls for more beer!

    congratulations, really looking forward to reading it. (just post it on twitter, bit by bit or something).

  13. Stuart Butler Says:

    OMG – you’re qualified!?

    Well done and congratulations! Must do celebratory and catch up beverage soon!

  14. Oakie Says:

    Congratulations and well done. I am so happy for you.

  15. Froggy Says:

    Congrats Graeme!

Leave a Reply

