Talent Imitates, Genius Steals

Surely this is pushing the boundaries of some kind of copyright law.

There I was, pottering down the dairy aisle in Tescos, when I saw possibly the most blatant brand rip-off ever (maybe).

Sitting right next to the UK’s favourite butter (and my client) Lurpak, was a spunky new rival, resplendent in silver, offset with some natty blue and yellow piping calling itself – wait for it – Butterpak.

Lurpak have recently undertaken a massive repositioning campaign and I’m sure all readers will be familiar with the super spots produced by W+K that have been running recently. For my money, this brand plagiarism is nothing more than a shabby move by a bog-standard own-label product to ride on the buzz created by this campaign.

I’m sure it’ll work well for them – and the title of this post isn’t just an homage to TS Eliot and an excellent blog. But, regardless of how smart it may be, it’s just not cricket. So I say: Tescos – you should be ashamed.

Have a look at the picture below and see what you think.


What would Douglas say?

By the way, I’m having a BBQ tonight so please excuse the alcohol-laden trolley.

Spotted in my local Tescos today (9th June 2007 for the record).

3 Responses to “Talent Imitates, Genius Steals”

  1. Rozza Says:

    well spotted.
    gutted for ’em I really am 😉

    but remember imitation is the sincerest form of flattery ha ha

    perhaps that’s not the case in the butter aisle.

  2. mediawasp Says:

    Interesting point. Very flattering for Lurpak, that the suffix ‘pak’ has become shorthand for ‘good quality’ when it comes to butter. I reckon most people who see ‘butterpak’ will probably think ‘oh that’s a bit like Lurpak’, which is a good thing for Lurpak, I guess.

  3. Greg Says:

    I’ll get my dad on to them….

Leave a Reply

