Joost – Now Open

In the unlikely event that you don’t have an ‘invite’ for Joost access, drop me an email / tweet. Every beta tester now has unlimited invites to distribute (see what they’ve done there? someone’s been looking at seeding models) so let me know if you want in.

There’s been a lot written about Joost. Does it live up to the hype? At the moment, I’m not sure – I think there’s an awful lot more they could do with the quality of the content and there is definitely scope for developing more social interaction. But, the branding is gorgeous, it is still in beta, and given the noise about it, it’s well worth having a look to see for yourself.

If you do have a play with it, or you’re a current beta tester, I’d be very interested in your thoughts.

Update:

I’ve given it a bit more time, and it’s growing on me. Although the quality really isn’t great, some of the shows are actually quite watchable (Sports Illustrated Swimsuit or World’s Strongest Man, anyone?). I probably didn’t give it enough time initially to fully explore the social side, and in fairness, all the basic boxes are ticked (IM, blog, P2P recommendations etc.) but it still doesn’t feel quite as intuitive as it should be. But maybe that’ll come with familiarity. Anyway, I’m a little bit more excited about it now. Will Joost revolutionise TV viewing? And will they crack an acceptable and innovative ad model (hint to Joost: the ad channel doesn’t cut it…)? Let’s see what happens.

3 Responses to “Joost – Now Open”

  1. Gagey Says:

    Yes please!

  2. FishNChimps Says:

    I’ve been messing with it and can’t get it to play anything. Not impressed (yet).

  3. Nicola Says:

    My feelings are the same as yours at the moment! I was eager to play around with it as soon as it came out of beta, but was also a bit disappointed. That’s probably because there has been a lot of hype.

    I think it looks great and it’s really use to use, the interface is lovely. Just disappointed with the content, but I’m hoping that will improve over time.

Leave a Reply

